Help Needed – 50th Birthday party music playlist

Good people of twitter/blogland,

I need your help!

My Mum turns 50 this January, and we are throwing her a birthday party. We are saving all our pennies to feed the 5000 that are invited (slight exaggeration perhaps) so creating a playlist of music to stick on an ipod in the corner. This is where  you come in, I hope. Shout some music at me that’ll satisfy a whole host of random folks.

growing up we were subjected to UB40 and that is about as much as I remember!

help please?

preeeeeeeeetty please.

 

 

UPDATE -

AS this post is the one most frequented by googlers (HIIIIIII *Waves) I thought it best to update and try and give you all some help as to what went down well at my Mums party back in January!

Billy Ray Cyrus – Achy Breaky heart (I deny all rumours that I sang this at the very top of my lungs, over and over again!)

Anything by -

Cher

the Beatles

the rolling stones

Steps

TakeThat

boyzone

Aqua – barbie girl

Los del Rio – Macarena (I may ADMIT to dancing to this…)

 

We downloaded essentail &0s, 80s and 90s type playlists and they gave us great variety. I hope you found some inspiration! and enjoy the party!

 

F x

6 Comments

Filed under friends, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Help Needed – 50th Birthday party music playlist

  1. Arrrrgh! Can’t believe it’s your MUM! I’m turning 50 this year too! I’m assuming she likes 80s music? So party stuff could include if you want people to get up and dance:

    Duran Duran
    Wham
    Yaz
    Bananarama
    Depeche Mode
    Dexys Midnight Runners
    Black Box
    The Human League
    Culture Club
    Frankie Goes to Hollywood

    This is all I can think of without including any punk (all that pogueing could be dangerous?) and without checking my record collection in the attic…

    I suppose you’d have to include Kylie and all the Scott, Aitken and Waterman produced records (they were the Simon Cowell of the 1980s)

    I hope your Mum has a wonderful party. Me, I’m off to see the Red Hot Chilli Peppers as my birthday treat :)

  2. is there a particular decade she likes? I would shout of some stuff my mum likes but she is not your average 61 year old.

    The Beatles are normally a must unless she hates them lol
    Billy Ocean
    Billy Joel
    Take That
    The Sweet
    Abba

    Trying to be random here lol

  3. I’m back I’m back!!!
    Try again…

    I put UB40 into Last.fm and it told me these are related/recommended artists:

    The Pretenders/Chrissie Hynde
    The Specials
    Madness
    Aswad

    May be some use?

    Also, I don’t know if it’s just my mum (in fact I’m sure it can’t be) but Paul Weller was always the most popular/most heard artist in our house. Either with The Jam, The Style Council or on his own.

    Any good? :p

Leave a Reply

